---
canonical: https://dogpolicies.com/areas/mendocino-coast/
title: "Dogs in the Mendocino Coast: dog-friendly places and rules"
license: CC-BY-4.0
attribution: "DogPolicies, dogpolicies.com, CC BY 4.0, verified 2026-11-01"
kind: destination
region: North Coast
json: https://dogpolicies.com/api/v1/areas.json
---

# Dogs in the Mendocino Coast

25 of 28 verified places in the Mendocino Coast allow dogs in at least some areas. No verified off-leash area yet. 4 beaches allow dogs. 9 places to stay take dogs.

## Cities with their own page

- [Mendocino](https://dogpolicies.com/cities/mendocino/): 10 verified places

## Dog parks and off-leash areas

| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Mendocino Grove](https://dogpolicies.com/places/mendocino-grove/) | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: on leash; up to 2 pets per site; dog park on site; $35 per pet per night. Dogs stay only in designated pet-friendly tents; add your dog to the reservation before you arrive. No puppies under a year old. | 2026-10-28 |

## Places to eat and drink

| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [HarborView Bistro and Bar](https://dogpolicies.com/places/harborview-bistro-and-bar-fort-bragg/) | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. The inn's page offers pet-friendly patio spots at the bistro, which fill up fast. It does not state a leash rule. | 2026-10-31 |

## Beaches and shoreline

| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Caspar Headlands State Beach](https://dogpolicies.com/places/caspar-headlands-state-beach/) | Caspar | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Greenwood State Beach](https://dogpolicies.com/places/greenwood-state-beach/) | Elk | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Schooner Gulch State Beach](https://dogpolicies.com/places/schooner-gulch-state-beach/) | Point Arena | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Westport-Union Landing State Beach](https://dogpolicies.com/places/westport-union-landing-state-beach/) | Westport | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |

## Parks

| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Admiral William Standley State Recreation Area](https://dogpolicies.com/places/admiral-william-standley-state-recreation-area/) | Westport | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Except for service animals, dogs not allowed on trails. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Caspar Headlands State Natural Reserve](https://dogpolicies.com/places/caspar-headlands-state-natural-reserve/) | Caspar | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Jug Handle State Natural Reserve](https://dogpolicies.com/places/jug-handle-state-natural-reserve/) | Caspar | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed on beach and headland trails west of Highway 1. Dogs not allowed on Staircase Trail or areas east of Highway 1. | 2026-10-26 |
| [MacKerricher State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/mackerricher-state-park/) | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs not allowed: Seal Rookery, Virgin Creek Beach, Ten Mile Beach and Dunes (Inglenook Fen- Ten Mile Dunes NP). | 2026-10-26 |
| [Manchester State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/manchester-state-park/) | Manchester | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground. Dogs not allowed on beach or on trails. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Mendocino Headlands State Park (incl. Ford House)](https://dogpolicies.com/places/mendocino-headlands-state-park/) | Mendocino | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Mendocino Woodlands State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/mendocino-woodlands-state-park/) | Mendocino | No | No. Dogs are not allowed. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Navarro River Redwoods State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/navarro-river-redwoods-state-park/) | Albion | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Noyo Headlands Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/noyo-headlands-park/) | Fort Bragg | Yes | Yes, on leash. | 2026-10-28 |
| [Point Cabrillo Light Station State Historic Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/point-cabrillo-light-station-state-historic-park/) | Mendocino | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Russian Gulch State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/russian-gulch-state-park/) | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground, beach, and trails west of Highway 1. Dogs not allowed on Fern Canyon Trail or trails east of Highway 1. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Van Damme State Park](https://dogpolicies.com/places/van-damme-state-park/) | Little River | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground, beach and Spring Ranch. Dogs not allowed on Fern Canyon Trail, Old Logging Road Trail, or Pygmy Forest Trail. | 2026-10-26 |

## Places to stay

| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Agate Cove Inn](https://dogpolicies.com/places/agate-cove-inn-mendocino/) | Mendocino | No | No. Pets are not allowed. | 2026-11-01 |
| [Best Western, Fort Bragg](https://dogpolicies.com/places/best-western-fort-bragg/) | Fort Bragg | Varies by location | Depends on the hotel: Best Western lets each hotel decide. Where pets are accepted: up to 2 pets per room; up to 80 lb each; up to $40 per room per night. | 2026-10-26 |
| [Headlands Inn](https://dogpolicies.com/places/headlands-inn-mendocino/) | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Small, well-behaved pets only, in three rooms and by prior arrangement; a cleaning charge applies. The page says "pets" and does not give the amount, a weight limit or leash rules. | 2026-11-01 |
| [Heritage House Resort & Spa](https://dogpolicies.com/places/heritage-house-resort-little-river/) | Little River | Yes | Yes: up to 2 pets per room; $75 per pet per stay. | 2026-10-31 |
| [Little River Inn](https://dogpolicies.com/places/little-river-inn/) | Little River | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: up to 2 pets per room; no weight limit; $30 per pet per night. Only some rooms are pet friendly: say when booking that you are bringing a pet. Guests pay for any damage a pet causes. | 2026-10-31 |
| [MacCallum House](https://dogpolicies.com/places/maccallum-house-mendocino/) | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: $40 per night. | 2026-10-31 |
| [Noyo Harbor Inn](https://dogpolicies.com/places/noyo-harbor-inn-fort-bragg/) | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Only some rooms accept dogs. The page states no pet fee, size limit or number of pets. | 2026-10-31 |
| [Pomo RV Park & Campground](https://dogpolicies.com/places/pomo-rv-park/) | Fort Bragg | Yes | Yes: on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | 2026-10-28 |
| [Stanford Inn](https://dogpolicies.com/places/stanford-inn-mendocino/) | Mendocino | Yes | Yes: on leash; $45 per stay. | 2026-10-31 |
| [Trailborn Mendocino](https://dogpolicies.com/places/trailborn-mendocino/) | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: on leash; up to 2 pets per room; up to 40 lb each. A daily pet fee is added to the room charge; the page does not state the amount. Tell the hotel when you book, since availability is limited. | 2026-10-31 |

Area: https://dogpolicies.com/areas/mendocino-coast/ · Methodology: https://dogpolicies.com/methodology/
