home › North Coast › Mendocino Coast
Dogs in the Mendocino Coast
Fort Bragg to Point Arena: headlands, state beaches and the town of Mendocino.
Can I bring my dog in the Mendocino Coast?
25 of 28 verified places in the Mendocino Coast allow dogs in at least some areas. No verified off-leash area yet. 4 beaches allow dogs. 9 places to stay take dogs.
Show only:2+ dogs OK (4)
On this page: dog parks and off-leash areas · places to eat and drink · beaches and shoreline · parks · places to stay · towns
Dog parks and off-leash areas
| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Pet fee | Weight limit | Pets | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mendocino Grove | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: on leash; up to 2 pets per site; dog park on site; $35 per pet per night. Dogs stay only in designated pet-friendly tents; add your dog to the reservation before you arrive. No puppies under a year old. | $35 per pet per night | Up to 2 | October 28, 2026 |
Places to eat and drink
| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Leash | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HarborView Bistro and Bar | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. The inn's page offers pet-friendly patio spots at the bistro, which fill up fast. It does not state a leash rule. | The inn's page offers pet-friendly patio spots at the bistro | October 31, 2026 |
Beaches and shoreline
| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Leash | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Caspar Headlands State Beach | Caspar | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Greenwood State Beach | Elk | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Schooner Gulch State Beach | Point Arena | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Westport-Union Landing State Beach | Westport | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
Parks
| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Leash | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Navarro River Redwoods State Park | Albion | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Caspar Headlands State Natural Reserve | Caspar | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Jug Handle State Natural Reserve | Caspar | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed on beach and headland trails west of Highway 1. Dogs not allowed on Staircase Trail or areas east of Highway 1. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| MacKerricher State Park | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs not allowed: Seal Rookery, Virgin Creek Beach, Ten Mile Beach and Dunes (Inglenook Fen- Ten Mile Dunes NP). | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Noyo Headlands Park | Fort Bragg | Yes | Yes, on leash. | Required | October 28, 2026 |
| Van Damme State Park | Little River | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground, beach and Spring Ranch. Dogs not allowed on Fern Canyon Trail, Old Logging Road Trail, or Pygmy Forest Trail. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Manchester State Park | Manchester | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground. Dogs not allowed on beach or on trails. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Mendocino Headlands State Park (incl. Ford House) | Mendocino | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Mendocino Woodlands State Park | Mendocino | No | No. Dogs are not allowed. | October 26, 2026 | |
| Point Cabrillo Light Station State Historic Park | Mendocino | Yes | Yes, on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Russian Gulch State Park | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Dogs allowed in campground, beach, and trails west of Highway 1. Dogs not allowed on Fern Canyon Trail or trails east of Highway 1. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
| Admiral William Standley State Recreation Area | Westport | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Except for service animals, dogs not allowed on trails. | Required | October 26, 2026 |
Places to stay
| Place | Town | Dogs | Answer | Pet fee | Weight limit | Pets | Verified |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best Western, Fort Bragg* | Fort Bragg | Varies by location | Depends on the hotel: Best Western lets each hotel decide. Where pets are accepted: up to 2 pets per room; up to 80 lb each; up to $40 per room per night. | Up to $40 per room per night | Up to 80 lb per pet | Up to 2 | October 26, 2026 |
| Noyo Harbor Inn | Fort Bragg | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Only some rooms accept dogs. The page states no pet fee, size limit or number of pets. | October 31, 2026 | |||
| Pomo RV Park & Campground | Fort Bragg | Yes | Yes: on a leash no longer than 6 feet. | October 28, 2026 | |||
| Heritage House Resort & Spa | Little River | Yes | Yes: up to 2 pets per room; $75 per pet per stay. | $75 per pet per stay | Up to 2 | October 31, 2026 | |
| Little River Inn | Little River | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: up to 2 pets per room; no weight limit; $30 per pet per night. Only some rooms are pet friendly: say when booking that you are bringing a pet. Guests pay for any damage a pet causes. | $30 per pet per night | No weight limit | Up to 2 | October 31, 2026 |
| Agate Cove Inn | Mendocino | No | No. Pets are not allowed. | November 1, 2026 | |||
| Headlands Inn | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions. Small, well-behaved pets only, in three rooms and by prior arrangement; a cleaning charge applies. The page says "pets" and does not give the amount, a weight limit or leash rules. | November 1, 2026 | |||
| MacCallum House | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: $40 per night. | $40 per night | October 31, 2026 | ||
| Stanford Inn | Mendocino | Yes | Yes: on leash; $45 per stay. | $45 per stay | October 31, 2026 | ||
| Trailborn Mendocino | Mendocino | Yes, with restrictions | Yes, with restrictions: on leash; up to 2 pets per room; up to 40 lb each. A daily pet fee is added to the room charge; the page does not state the amount. Tell the hotel when you book, since availability is limited. | Up to 40 lb per pet | Up to 2 | October 31, 2026 |
* Brand policy: the chain's published rules, not yet confirmed by this hotel.
Towns
Mendocino (10) · Albion (1) · Caspar (3) · Elk (1) · Fort Bragg (6) · Little River (3) · Manchester (1) · Point Arena (1) · Westport (2)
Counties
County rules apply in unincorporated areas: Mendocino County.